NOCN National Open College Network is recognised as an Awarding Organisation (AO) by the qualification regulators in the UK. The regulators are the Office of the Qualifications and Examinations Regulator (Ofqual) in England, QiW in Wales and the CCEA. Each year NOCN Qualifications must assure the Regulators that they continue to meet the General Conditions of Recognition and that their approved centres meet the same exact standards.

NOCN ESOL International qualifications are accredited by Ofqual.

  • NOCN Entry Level Certificate in ESOL International (Entry 1) (A1)
  • NOCN Entry Level Certificate in ESOL International (Entry 2) (A2)
  • NOCN Entry Level Certificate in ESOL international (Entry 3) (B1)
  • NOCN Level 1 Certificate in ESOL International (B2)
  • NOCN Level 2 Certificate in ESOL International (C1)
  • NOCN Level 3 Certificate in ESOL International (C2)

The Office of Qualifications and Examinations Regulation (Ofqual) regulates qualifications, examinations and assessments in England.

Ofqual was set up in April 2010 under the Apprenticeships, Skills, Children and Learning Act 2009 and is also covered by the Education Act 2011.

Ofqual is a non-ministerial government department with jurisdiction in England.

Ofqual is responsible for making sure that:

  • regulated qualifications reliably indicate the knowledge, skills and understanding students have demonstrated
  • assessments and exams show what a student has achieved
  • people have confidence in the qualifications that we regulate
  • students and teachers have information on the full range of qualifications that we regulate

ESOL International qualifications are designed for learners who are not native speakers of English and who wish to achieve a high quality, internationally recognised qualification in English, at the highest level (Regulated Qualification Framework (RQF) Level 3/ Common European Framework (CEF) C2). The Qualifications are suitable for learners who are preparing for entry to higher education or professional employment in the UK or elsewhere

ESOL International qualifications are designed to reference the descriptions of language proficiency in the Common European Framework Reference for Languages (CEFR). The levels in the CEFR have been mapped to the levels in the National Qualifications Framework for England, Wales and Northern Ireland (see Pathways to Proficiency: the alignment of language proficiency scales for assessing competence in English Language DFES/QCA, 2003).

NOCN ESOL International Qualifications are recognised by ASEP.

ASEP is the Supreme Council for Civil Personnel Selection which was established by Law 2190/1994 as an independent authority responsible for securing the implementation of the provisions on public sector staff selection and recruitment.

Copyright © 2022 GlobalCert. All rights reserved.